Vietnam Photoblog

’ve been spending my last week of my travels in Vietnam with my family. Because I’m not really planning, I feel disingenuous making a complete blog post about what I’ve been up to. Plus, it’s my second time visiting these places, so I figured I’d give a few of my impressions the second time around and share some pictures of each place.

Hoi An:  Last time I was in Hoi An, it was hot and sunny! Not so much this time. I spent my time there the first time wandering around the old town and lying on the beach. The rain made wandering difficult and beach-time impossible, but I was still able to appreciate the beauty of the town and eat some delicious cao lau. I also got some clothes custom made–a dress and a skirt– for $35 total. Not bad!

A rainy day in Hoi An #vietnam #asia #travel

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

Hoi An, Vietnam

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

Hoi An, Vietnam

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

Hanoi: Similarly to Hoi An, the weather in Hanoi wasn’t as lovely as it was the last time around. Thankfully, the city is still beautiful and historic. I especially love the colonial architecture and French influences, as well as the fact that there’s a lake in the city center with a turtle living in it, allegedly guarding an ancient sword. Seeing embalmed communist leaders is always an experience, and Ho Chi Minh is just how I remembered him.  While Saigon is the commercial center of Vietnam, Hanoi is undoubtedly its cultural and historical heart. Plus, it’s home to some excellent bun cha.

#hanoi #vietnam #travel

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

Hanoi, Vietnam

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

Ha Long Bay: Finally, the weather cooperated! Not much to say, other than that Ha Long Bay continues to take my breath away. Go there. Go there now.

Ha Long Bay, Vietnam

A post shared by Lily Seglin (@lseglin) on

One thought on “Vietnam Photoblog

Leave a Reply

