Happy New Year and What’s Next

2015 is here and that means my Asia trip is OVER. I’m back in Chicago and eating Kraft Macaroni and Cheese as I write this. I’m very sad to be done with my adventure, but I spent a great New Years Eve in Hong Kong, even though I had a cold and laryngitis. I may sound like an 80-year-old smoker, but that doesn’t stop me!

My family and I ate dinner at Tim Ho Wan, the cheapest Michelin starred restaurant in the world. It my second time there after coming during my first stay in Hong Kong, but it was just as delicious as I remembered, especially the BBQ pork buns, which are lightly fried rather than steamed like traditional bao are.

Because I was tired and cranky and sick, I went back to the hotel after dinner to shower and regain my strength for the fireworks. We poured onto the street with a huge crush of locals and listened to the countdown to midnight–in Cantonese of course! The fireworks display afterwards over the Hong Kong skyline was breathtaking.

And with that, my Asia Schlep is sadly over. But that is not the end of the blog! I have a few more Asia posts coming up about planning trips and what to do and not do if you’re thinking of coming here. I also have more adventures in the future. Provided all goes according to plan, I will be joining the Peace Corps for 27 months on May 25, 2015! I will be serving in Cameroon focusing on “Female Empowerment.” Words cannot describe my level of excitement over this new opportunity. While in Cameroon, I plan to use my blog as a blog about my day-to-day life as a Peace Corps volunteer, as well to chronicle the traveling within the region I hope to do (I have my eye on Tanzania and Ethiopia at the moment). After my service, my plan is another long-term trip through South America, but since that’s so far away, it’s tentative at best, although that hasn’t stopped me from planning! Thank you for reading about my adventures and I hope you too have a happy, healthy, and adventure-filled 2015!

Leave a Reply

